Meet NSSRA’s 2018 Summer Intern: Amy Lubawy (Summer 2018)

I am currently finishing up Bachelors of Science Education degree at the University of Tennessee (UT), studying Recreation Sports Management with a concentration in Therapeutic Recreation and a minor in Psychology.

I was born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada and was recruited to swim D1 for UT. I still enjoy swimming recreationally and I love to go to the movies or go downtown for dinner and see the city. I have had a lot of experience working with individuals with disabilities, everything from teaching visually impaired children to surf to attending and facilitating both weekend and week-long camps. I have even been involved with the Nevada Special Olympics (I’m originally from Nevada), and Tennessee’s CDC school district.

My passion is to help people, and I love having the ability to impact someone’s life in such an amazing way. I am looking forward to not only expanding my knowledge of what goes into making NSSRA programs work, but also to taking on an essential role in that process. I am excited to grow my relationships with the other staff members, and to create new ones with the participants. Here’s to a great summer!

What is your favorite program or memory with NSSRA so far? So far, the best memory has been the ELA Fun Run. Everyone was covered in stickers by the end of the day! It was great to see everyone who showed up and made it go so smoothly, and to be able to meet some of the participants for the first time.

Funniest moment with NSSRA? The very first participant I met told me I look like Jessica Alba.

What are you most excited about this summer? I am most excited to start the programming season and to interact with so many different participants. I know it’s going to give me a lot of valuable experiences that I will be able to carry into my future as a CTRS. I also can’t wait to start developing new friendships with everyone here at NSSRA, and with all of our participants and their families.

Tell us something unique about yourself. I was born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada.

If you could have any one superpower, which would you choose? I have always wanted to fly! I’ve even had dreams that I could, and they did not disappoint. Flying would be the best!

One word that describes you at age 10. Outgoing.  

Hidden talent? I can blow bubble rings underwater.

Favorite food? I love all food, I’m not picky at all, but I would have to say Mexican food is one of my go-to meals.

Name one thing you can’t live without. My family. They can be a little crazy at times, but I wouldn’t be where I am or who I am without them.

You’re happiest when? I’m making an impact on someone else’s life, or just making people laugh/smile.